City Morgue- “Volume 3: Bottom Of The Barrel” (Album Review)

City Morgue- “Volume 3: Bottom Of The Barrel” (Album Review)

Showing just how powerful they can be when combining forces, ZillaKami and SosMula once again capture the magic that has made them so successful on City Morgue Volume 3: Bottom Of The Barrel. Per the series’s usual, the youthful duo keeps the project at around half an hour, this time with 13 tracks that test the two’s ability to create intense rock and trap crossovers in a refreshing light. As opposed to ZillaKami’s disastrous solo debut Dog Boy which was released only weeks before, Bottom Of The Barrel has an established tone, and with a list of skilled producers including Yung Germ, Powers Pleasent, and Thraxx, the hell-found instrumentals these minds compose bring out the best in the two-headed tandem. Even the songs that move away from the cutthroat feel City Morgue is renowned for, like “Everyhting Is Broken,” actually end up being some of the album’s best moments due to the personally inflicted writing from both SosMula and ZillaKami. With their writing being proficient and almost always on par, the chemistry between this duo seems better than ever. Another facet this album thrives in is the hook department, which contains some genuinely catchy and memorable reprises, mainly from Zilla. With its only major flaws coming from the duo’s song collapsing rowdiness, Bottom Of The Barrel brings City Morgue back to form and shows just how good they can be in such a brief experience.

Rating: 6.4/10

Top 5 Songs:

  1. Everything Is Broken
  2. Make It Disappear
  3. Cabin In The Woods
  4. Conscience

Written By: Mr. Fantastic

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: